Long Weekend Of Super Rod Action

The Super Rod’s took to Swan Hill’s Sonic Speedway over the Queen’s Birthday Long weekend where it was Neville Gange who took out the Graham Crick Memorial ahead of Adrian Rieck and Shaun Walsh.


Saturday night’s racing got under way with Rieck taking a green to checker win leading home Gange and Leigh Podger. It was a drama packed second heat when the car of Gange rolled in the first lap, Zac Farrer set the pace taking a flag to flag win ahead of Podger and Andrew Howard.

In heat three Kerang’s Farrar’s night took an unexpected turn when before a lap could be completed he rolled his car ending his weekend’s racing. Howard went on to take an all the ways win ahead of Paul Singleton and Rieck.


The line-up for Saturday night’s final saw Rieck and Howard making up the front row, they were followed by Podger, Singleton, Gange, Peter Duynhoven, Corey Deglaitis, George Woolstencroft and Amy Duynhoven. With Swan Hill local Duane Cordina unable to start the final after enduring teething issues throughout the night.


From the drop of the green it was Howard who made the jump leading away from Rieck, Gange and Podger.  In lap three Gange was able to move into second position with Podger accounting for Rieck the following lap. The race continued in this fashion and at the end of a nonstop fifteen laps it was Howard who secured the win in the final ahead of Gange Podger, Rieck, Singleton, Peter Duynhoven, Woolstencroft and Amy Duynhoven.

Sunday night’s racing saw two driver changes with Shaun Walsh taking over the driving duties from Andrew Howard and Michael Coad substituting for Leigh Podger.


In heat one it was Walsh who secured the win with Coad making a last lap charge to seize second ahead of Gange. Coad was the victor in heat two with Gange and Deglaitis filling out the minors. The final heat of night two saw an all the ways win for Walsh leading home Gange and Deglaitis.


The grid for Sunday night’s final saw Walsh and Coad set to start from one and two, with Gange and Deglaitis making up the second row, then came Peter Duynhoven, Woolstencroft, Rieck, Amy Duynhoven, Singleton and Cordina. Unfortunately prior to the final commencing heavy rain set in and racing was abandoned.


The Graham Crick Memorial was awarded on points over the two nights of racing with Gange awarded the win ahead of Adrian Rieck and Shaun Walsh.


This completes the racing component of the Super Rod season with the Presentation dinner on Saturday 13th of July at the Leopold Sportsman’s Club, Geelong. Bookings can be made on 03 5595 1174 BH or 5595 1399 AH