Super Rod Awards

The Super Rod Association conducted their presentations for the 2019/2020 Season over the 16th and 17th of October. It was former Cobden local Paul Verhoeven who secured the top honours claiming the 2019-2020 Super Rod Points Aggregate. 


In a season marred by Covid 19 seeing the season cut short in March and the Annual Presentation dinner abandoned.  


Having contested all of the point score meetings of the season Paul Verhoeven took his maiden feature win at Avalon in January along with a number of heat wins finishing on 647 points and also taking home the Verhoeven Family Aggregate Perpetual Award.  Jamie May has shown great form in the later half of the season claiming three features wins was a mere 43 points behind on 604 and  Neville Gange on 569 who also secured two features wins for the season. 


The Rookie of the Year award went to Gerrard Mabbitt the top point scoring first year driver, who made the move to Super Rods after having had stints in the Street Stock and Formula 500 divisions.  With fellow rookie competitor Paul Baker receiving the Associations Encouragement Award for his dedication and determination to go racing. 


Jamie May was awarded the Most Improved Driver award with his consistency in meetings attended setting him in second position in the overall Aggregate. The Award that no one ever really wants to win in the Unluckiest Driver award went to Paul Singleton after a bone jarring rollover at Premier Speedway in January which saw Singleton transported to hospital with fractured vertebrae and ending his season. 

Super Rod Association President Damien Falkingham awarded his President’s Award to the Singleton Family, With Sharon offering assistance with applying our Child Safe Policy, Paul with offering his ear and contributions, Shantel with her continued assistance in lap scoring and Aaron for his dedication to helping get the car back together. 


A Special Recognition Award was awarded to Sally Woolstencroft for her dedication to racing and Consistency throughout the season, who was just starting to become comfortable in the car before the season was cut short. 


Congratulations to all of the Award Winners and a Massive thankyou to the Super Rod Committee Members and all who were involved in making the award nights go ahead, as a lot of work has gone in behind the scenes. 


The Super Rod Association had set the date for their Annual General Meeting on the 8th of November, however due to continued Covid 19 restrictions it has been postponed until a later date when rules are more suitable.


Overall Point score top 10 

Paul Verhoeven 647 

Jamie May 604 

Neville Gange 569  

Michael Coad 559 

Jason Kavanagh 359 

Troy Gleeson 315 

Dane Court 264 

Corey Deglaitis 262 

Peter Duynhoven 257 

Adrian Rieck 206