Walsh Snares Simpson Win

Saturday 5th of December saw the Super Rods in action at Heytesbury Stockfeed’s Simpson Speedway, where Shaun Walsh claimed victory piloting the Jason Grayland owned machine ahead of Ken Baynes and Shawn Duynhoven. In the first heat of the night it was Walsh who was hotly pressed by Ewan McKenzie before the later ran high allowing Darryl Nelson into second position, Nelson continued to apply pressure to Walsh but it was Nelson who slid high while Walsh went on to greet the chequer first with Baynes and McKenzie securing second and third. Heat two saw Allan Pitcher take the win ahead of Shawn Duynhoven and rookie competitor Geoff Long. Heat three saw Andrew Howard first to the flag ahead of Robert Richardson and Nelson. Shawn Duynhoven was the victor in the final heat of the night leading home Baynes and Michael Cunningham.  The final saw Shawn Duynhoven starting out of position one with Baynes on his outside, with Walsh and Pitcher filling out the second row, they were followed by Cunningham, Nelson, Richardson, Howard, Long, McKenzie, Troy Gleeson, Peter Bodger, George Woolstencroft, Jim Gronbeck, Corey Deglaitis and Peter Duynhoven.  From the drop of the green it was Shawn Duynhoven who secured the best of the starts with Walsh in pursuit, however with the cars of Howard and Gleeson tangling resulting in a complete restart. It was again Shawn Duynhoven leading the pack of Walsh, Baynes and Pitcher, in lap two Walsh was able to move into the lead however this was short lived as Shawn Duynhoven regained the front position half a lap later however the determined Walsh once again resumed the lead the following lap. Walsh established a handy lead while the duel for the minor placings proved exciting with Shawn Duynhoven, Baynes and Pitcher all vying to beat each other. They continued in this fashion until lap 14 when the car of Howard pulled infield due to brake failure with the overheated disc causing a fire bringing on the red lights. The race was declared with Walsh awarded the win ahead of Baynes second and Shawn Duynhoven third, they were followed by Pitcher, Cunningham, Nelson, McKenzie, Long, Deglaitis, Woolstencroft, Richardson, Bodger, Gleeson, Peter Duynhoven and Gronbeck. The next meeting for Super Rods will see them travel to Geelong’s Avalon raceway for racing on Saturday 12th of December.