Super Rod Presentation Dinner

The Super Rod Association held their annual presentation dinner last Saturday 13th of July at the Leopold Sportsman’s Club. It was Lancefield’s Shaun Walsh who scooped the pool on the night, including taking out the overall 2018/2019 Super Rod Aggregate.


Walsh took a clear win in the Super Rod Aggregate with 1521 points ahead of Neville Gange second on 1343 with Ewan McKenzie rounding out the top three on 769.


In other Awards on the night it was Jamie May who received the Rookie of the Year award, the Most Improved Driver went to Paul Singleton while Zac Farrer received the Association’s Encouragement Award. After having a major engine detonation early in the season the Unluckiest Driver Award went to Rod Smith. George Woolstencroft presented his President’s Award to Shantel Singleton for her work behind the scenes from helping with Draws, organising drivers and Lap Scoring.


Also presented on the night were the Western Cup Series, where it was Neville Gange who secured the win on 475 points ahead of Shaun Walsh 418 and Jason Kavanagh on 321. The Super Rod Association would like to thank their valued supporters of this series McDonald Livestock and General Carrier, PWS Fabrications, Donna’s Photos and The Grayland Family.


Easter saw the Super Rods partake in the first of hopefully many “Max Dumsney Motorsport Super Rod Easter Trail”, without the Support of Avalon Raceway, Borderline Speedway and Premier Speedway and the amazing sponsors Max Dumsney Motorsport, Highline Racewear, PWS Fabrications and Ratio Control Engineering it could not have been the roaring success that it was.

Shaun Walsh took out the series ahead of Neville Gange, Ewan McKenzie, Michael Coad and Jamie May.

The Super Rod Association would like to thank everyone who made this night a great success, from our valued volunteers to our wonderful sponsors.


The Super Rod Association will hold their Annual General Meeting on Sunday 4th of August 1pm, at Thommo’s Hotel, Cobden.



2018/19 Super Rod Aggregate - Top 10

1st Shaun Walsh - 1521

2nd Neville Gange – 1343

3rd Ewan McKenzie – 769

4th Jamie May – 756

5th Paul Verhoeven – 750

6th Michael Coad – 699

7th Zac Farrer – 608

8th Troy Gleeson – 586

9th Jason Kavanagh – 521

10th Peter Duynhoven - 502