Coad Takes Premier Night 1

The Super Rods were at Warrnambool’s Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway where they supported night one of the Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic on Friday night. With three nights consecutive racing it was Michael Coad who claimed the checker on night one ahead of Ewan McKenzie and Quentin Tanner.


In the first heat of the night it was McKenzie who was able to take the win from Darryl Nelson and Adrian Rieck. Coad took a green to checker win in the second heat when he led home Tanner and McKenzie.


The grid for the final saw McKenzie and Coad making up the front row, they were followed by Tanner, Rieck, Nelson, Duane Cordina, Howard Stansfield, Neville Simper, Sally Woolstencroft, David Duynhoven and Peter Duynhoven. With Paul Verhoeven unable to start the final after spraining his wrist in the first heat when the front end taken out after contact with another car.


The fifteen lap final saw Coad take to the lead from the start however McKenzie running the low line was able to move into the lead on the back straight ahead of Coad, Tanner, Rieck and Nelson. The top trio put on an enthralling show as they battled for the lead, they continued in this fashion until lap eleven when the lead pack encountered a lapped car Coad was able to use this to his advantage and was able to seize the lead from McKenzie. The cars in 4th, 5th and 6th also put on some exciting racing as the cars of Rieck, Nelson and Stansfield also put on some very close racing.


Coad was able to hold out the hard charging McKenzie for the win with Tanner home in third, they were followed by Rieck, Stansfield, Nelson, Cordina and Woolstencroft.

Photo: Michael Coad - Robert Lake Photography