Success for Stansfield at Premier

The Super Rods took to Warrnambool’s Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway last Saturday night to support night two of the Australian Sprintcar Title. It was Warrnambool’s Grant Stansfield who secured the win, Stansfield who had worked well into the early hours of the morning and most of the day to repair the damaged chassis of his father’s car sustained on night one to lead home Allan Pitcher and Ewan McKenzie. In the first heat of the night it was Jack Gale who took the win ahead of McKenzie and Stansfield, this heat was marred when the car of Troy Gleeson rolled in the final lap after riding the wheel of McKenzie resulting in Gleeson hitting the fence and causing substantial damage to the rear of the chassis eliminating him for the remainder of the night. Heat two it was Stansfield who took the win ahead of Peter Duynhoven and Allan Pitcher home in third. The line-up for the final saw Stansfield and McKenzie making up the front row, they were followed by Gale, Peter Duynhoven, Pitcher, Peter Bodger, Darryl Nelson, David Duynhoven, Tyson Benson and Sally Woolstencroft. With Michael Coad unable to start the final with electrical issues and Geoff Long with engine problems. Stansfield made the best of the starts with McKenzie and Pitcher leading the pursuit, with six laps remaining Pitcher was able to move past McKenzie and set off in pursuit of Stansfield who had established a handy lead. At the fall of the checker it was Stansfield taking the win ahead of Pitcher with McKenzie rounding out the podium, they were followed by Gale, Peter Duynhoven, Woolstencroft, Nelson and Benson. The Super Rod’s now have a short break before returning to Heytesbury Stockfeed’s Simpson Speedway for the 39th running of the time honoured Trevor Podger Memorial.