Memorial Win For May

The 43rd running of the Trevor Podger Memorial for Super Rod’s was ran on Saturday 15th of February at Heytesbury Stockfeed’s Simpson Speedway where it was Hopper’s Crossings Jamie May who took a memorable win by a mere 0.002 seconds ahead of Laang’s Troy Gleeson with Hamilton’s Dane Court home in third.


In the first heat of the night it was SDAV competitor Stan Marco Snr who secured an all the ways win ahead of Paul Verhoeven and Adrian Rieck home in third. May claimed the win in heat two with Court and Gleeson rounding out the top three.


Heat three saw Marco Snr claiming his second heat win of the night ahead of Kavanagh and Rieck. In the fourth heat it was Court led the way however May was able to seize the lead in the last lap taking the victory from Court and Gleeson.


Neville Gange was the victor in heat five leading home Kavanagh and Allan Pitcher. Gleeson secured the win in the night’s final heat when he led home Michael Coad and Court.


The line up for the final saw May and Court making up the front row, they were followed by Gleeson, Kavanagh, Marco Snr, Gange, Rieck, Verhoeven, Pitcher, Coad, Tom Marco, Sally Woolstencroft and Daniel Mills, with Peter Duynhoven unable to take his place in the field.


With 25 laps on the board it was May who made the best of the starts leading away from Court, Kavanagh and Gleeson all in hot pursuit. A stoppage in lap four saw the field come to a halt when the car of Tom Marco spun with Coad and Rieck unable to avoid the chaos and all three were eliminated from the event.


May continued to set the pace from the restart with Court, Gleeson and Kavanagh leading the charge in a thrilling race on a tricky surface. In lap thirteen the battle between Gleeson and Court was in full swing with Gleeson moving into second place only to have Court regain his position the following lap. Lap fifteen saw Gleeson resume second position and set his eyes on the leader May.

While the two leaders put on a dynamic display of driving it was Gleeson who was able to seize the lead in the white flag lap in the process setting a new one lap record of 14.966sec, but it in a last lap effort it was May who was able to once again resume the lead greeting the flag first in the narrowest of margins.


It was May who claimed the victory and secured his first Trevor Podger Memorial win, Gleeson second and Court home in third. They were followed by Marco Snr, Pitcher, Gange, Verhoeven, Woolstencroft and Mills.


The next meeting for Super Rods will be on Friday 28th of February at Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway Sungold Stadium before returning to the venue the following night on the 29th of February for the running of the 2020 Super Rod Cup.

Photo: Donna's Photos








Donna's Photos.jpg