Baynes Stampedes at Laang

The Super Rods took to Laang Speedway on Tuesday 29th of December for the running of round one Super Rod Stampede supported by Adzweld Fabrications and Max & Pam Wines Contracting. It was Jancourt’s Ken Baynes who greeted the flag first ahead of Troy Gleeson and Howard Stansfield. In the first heat of the night it was Stansfield who took an all the way win ahead of Gleeson and Corey Deglaitis. Heat two saw Baynes lead home Peter Duynhoven and Leigh Podger finishing third. Ewan McKenzie was the victor in heat three when he led home Deglaitis and Baynes. While Baynes secured his second heat win of the night in the fourth heat leading home Shaun Walsh and Gleeson. The line-up for the final saw Baynes and Gleeson making up the front row, they were followed by McKenzie, Deglaitis, Stansfield, Peter Duynhoven, Podger, Walsh, Jim Gronbeck and David Duynhoven. From the drop of the green it was Baynes who led the way with Gleeson and McKenzie in pursuit, with Baynes establishing himself a handy gap ahead of the pursuing pack. While it was Gleeson and McKenzie who held on to the minors, it was rookie competitor Gronbeck who had one of the drives of the final and managed to elevate himself into fourth position however the experienced Stansfield was able to regain his position before taking on McKenzie for third. At the fall of the checker in the 20 lap nonstop final it was Baynes who was able to overcome a heavy knock to the turn one wall to finish first ahead of Gleeson, Stansfield, McKenzie, Podger, Gronbeck, Deglaitis, Peter Duynhoven and David Duynhoven.