Kavanagh King At Avalon

The Super Rods took to Geelong’s Avalon Raceway last Saturday night where it was Melton’s Jason Kavanagh who took a green to checker win ahead of Jamie May and Jacob Pitcher.


Pitcher secured an all the ways win in the first heat of the night when he led home Peter Duynhoven and May. The second heat of the night saw Paul Verhoeven claim the win ahead of Kavanagh and Stan Marco Jnr. This heat was marred when the car of George Woolstencroft rolled heavily ending his night.


Heat three saw Kavanagh take a convincing win ahead of Dane Court and Rod Smith. Shaun Walsh led the final heat of the night for nine laps before May seized his opportunity to take a last lap win relegating Walsh to second with Verhoeven rounding out the three.


The drivers would then contest a pole shuffle where the top 8 cars contested a series of two lap dashes. In the first contest it was Smith who was able to account for challenger Duynhoven. Marco Jnr was able to retain his starting position. The next duel saw Court and Stan Marco Jnr matched up with Court moving forward to the next challenger in Pitcher. This time it was Pitcher who took the win only to be defeated by Verhoeven in the next dash. May was able to hold out Verhoeven to retain his second starting position before taking on the night’s top point scorer Kavanagh in the hopes to seize the pole position. Kavanagh was too strong and retained pole position.


With the grid set it was Kavanagh and May making up the front row, they were followed by Verhoeven, Pitcher, Court, Stan Marco Jnr, Smith, Duynhoven, Neville Gange, Stansfield, Walsh, Raedyn Marco, Gerrard Mabbitt and making his Super Rod debut Luke Gilbert.


Kavanagh made the best of the starts in the final leading away from May, Verhoeven and Pitcher. With Kavanagh setting a blistering pace, May continued to lead the charge from Verhoeven, while the cars of Court, Marco Jnr and Pitcher were engaged in a tight battle. In lap nine the race came to a caution when the car of Dane Court came to a halt with a bent steering linkage.  From the restart Kavanagh continued on from May, Marco Jnr and Pitcher. As the chequered flag dropped at the conclusion of 20 laps it was Kavanagh who claimed the win ahead of May, Pitcher, Stan Marco Jnr, Gange, Duynhoven, Mabbitt, Stansfield, Smith and Gilbert.



The next meeting for Super Rods will see them take to Heytesbury Stockfeed’s Simpson Speedway next Saturday 15th of January for the running of the second running of Snoopy’s Super Rod Slam a race to honor long time Super Rod veteran.

Photo: Grumpy & Sons