Trevor Podger Memorial Win for Howard

Andrew Howard added his name to the honour roll of one of the most prestigious Super Rod races on the annual calendar on Saturday night when he won the 40th running of the Trevor Podger Memorial at Heytesbury Stockfeed’s Simpson Speedway. Howard secured the lead in the last two laps to take the win ahead of Shawn Duynhoven and Michael Coad.


In the first heat of the night Duynhoven secured the win ahead of Allan Pitcher and Alex Bath. Darryl Nelson took an all the ways win in heat two when he led home Corey Deglaitis and Troy Gleeson.


Heat three saw a flag to flag win for Gleeson leading home Coad and Leigh Podger. Duynhoven took his second heat win for the night in the fourth heat ahead of Ewan McKenzie and Deglaitis.


Coad claimed victory in heat five ahead of Shaun Walsh with Podger third. In the final heat of the night it was McKenzie claiming a convincing win ahead of Pitcher and Paul Verhoeven.


The line-up for the final saw Duynhoven from position one with Coad on his outside, they were followed by McKenzie, Gleeson, Pitcher, Nelson, Podger, Deglaitis, Smith, Walsh, Verhoeven, Howard, Neville Simper, Neville Gange, Sally Woolstencroft and Geoff Long. Unable to start the final were Bath with oil Pressure problems and Robert Richardson power steering issues.


A short sharp shower after the heats meant that the track had to be reworked with the Simpson track crew doing a great job to get the track back into racing condition, Super Rods went out for hot laps and then lined up for their final.


At the fall of the green it was Duynhoven who got the best of the start leading away from Coad and McKenzie, on lap two Pitcher was able to make his way up into third position and the following lap he moved into second place, on the next lap he clipped a tyre on the pole line bringing the race to a caution.


Duynhoven was able to maintain his lead at the restart, at this stage Howard had made his way up into fourth place from his twelfth starting position.  The following lap Howard moved into third position ahead of McKenzie and on lap seven passed Coad to move into second place.


The two leaders put on a splendid display of close racing on a very racy track, on lap 18 the two leaders encountered lapped traffic with Howard having the best run through was able to take the lead and continue on to take a well-deserved win with Duynhoven finishing as runner up and Coad third, ahead of McKenzie, Nelson, Walsh, Deglaitis, Pitcher, Gleeson, Smith, Verhoeven, Simper, Woolstencroft, Gange and Podger.


At the presentations and excited Howard thanked his family, car owner Ron Jones, crew and sponsors for finally achieving a goal he has raced many years to achieve. Howard now joins his brother and six time winner of the event Shaun Walsh on the honour roll.


The Super Rod’s next meeting will be this coming Friday 24th of February where they will take to Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway to support night one of the Australian Late Model Championship.