Simpson Win For Walsh

The Super Rods took to Heytesbury Stockfeed’s Simpson Speedway last Saturday night where it was Shaun Walsh who collected the win ahead of Corey Deglaitis and Troy Gleeson.


With each driver contesting two of the three heats of the night, it was Walsh who went on to take an all the way win ahead of Neville Gange and Ewan McKenzie in the first heat.


Heat two saw Nelson set the early pace with Walsh in hot pursuit, in lap eight Walsh was able to take the lead with Deglaitis moving into second place in the final lap, leaving Nelson rounding out the top three.


Gleeson was the victor in the third heat of the night after chasing down an early lead by McKenzie, with McKenzie holding on for second ahead of Michael Coad.


It was Walsh and McKenzie making up the front row of the final grid, they were followed by Deglaitis and Coad, then came Gleeson, Nelson, Gange, Paul Verhoeven, Sally Woolstencroft, Neville Simper, Damien Falkingham, Shawn Duynhoven, Paul Singleton and Allan Pitcher.


From the fall of the green it was Walsh who charged forward with Deglaitis, McKenzie and Gleeson in hot pursuit, with the race coming to a caution in lap four when the car of Woolstencroft spun. 

Walsh once again broke away from the restart, with Deglaitis hot on his tail, the contest for the minor positions proved to be entertaining as a battle developed between McKenzie, Gleeson and Nelson.

At the fall of the checker it was Walsh who went on to take a convincing win ahead of Deglaitis, Gleeson, Coad, Gange, McKenzie, Duynhoven, Verhoeven, Nelson, Falkingham, Simper, Singleton and Woolstencroft.


The Super Rod’s will be in action this Friday, Saturday and Sunday at Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway Sungold Stadium where they will support the 45th running of the Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic.