Tanner Takes A Classic Win

The Super Rods were in action at Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway Sungold Stadium on Sunday 21st of January where it was Quentin Tanner who greeted the checker first ahead of Michael Coad and Howard Stansfield.


The first heat of the night saw a green to checker win for Tanner when he led home Stansfield and Coad. Adrian Rieck was the winner of the second heat when he led home Coad and Stansfield.


Tanner started from position one in the final with Coad out of two, next came Stansfield, Rieck, Darryl Nelson, Ewan McKenzie, Jason Kavanagh, David Duynhoven, Neville Simper and Peter Duynhoven. With Duane Cordina unable to start with brake issues.

At the drop of the green it was Tanner that led away from Coad, Stansfield, Rieck and McKenzie. In lap six the race came to a halt when the car of Peter Duynhoven rolled. From the restart it was again Tanner with Coad and Stansfield in pursuit. Tanner was able to hold out his pursuers to take the win ahead of Coad, Stansfield, McKenzie, Rieck, Kavanagh, Nelson, Simper and David Duynhoven


The next meeting for Super Rods will be on Saturday 3rd of February at Heytesbury Stockfeed’s Simpson Speedway for the 41st running of the Trevor Podger Memorial.

Photo: Quentin Tanner - Robert Lake Photography