Classic Super Rods

Last Friday, Saturday and Sunday saw the Super Rod’s in action as support to the Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic.


Night one saw Quentin Tanner take the first heat win of the weekend when he went green to checker leading home Howard Stansfield and Paul Verhoeven. Ewan McKenzie was the victor in the second heat when he led home Peter Duynhoven and Troy Gleeson, this heat was marred when Tanner rolled in the third lap.


The line up for the Friday night final saw McKenzie and Gleeson off the front row, followed by Tanner, Verhoeven, Stansfield, Peter Duynhoven, Jamie May, George Woolstencroft, Troy Hose, David Duynhoven and Paul Singleton.


McKenzie made the best of the starts leading away from Gleeson, Verhoven and Tanner, with Tanner moving into second in lap four. They continued in this fashion until the checkered flag fell with McKenzie first over the line ahead of Tanner and Gleeson, they were followed by Verhoeven, Stansfield, May, Hose, Woolstencroft, David Duynhoven, Peter Duynhoven and Singleton.


Saturday night saw McKenzie take the win in the first heat when he led home May and Stansfield. Due to time constraints on the night the second heat was ran as a fifteen lap final.

The line up for the final saw Singleton and Verhoeven making up row one, they were followed by Amy Duynhoven, Gleeson, Clinton Scott, Michael Coad, Peter Duynhoven, Woolstencroft, Stansfield, McKenzie, Hose and May.


It was Gleeson who took to the lead from the drop of the green ahead of Verhoeven, McKenzie and Singleton.  With McKenzie moving into second the following lap. The top six cars put on a great display of close racing with cars of McKenzie, Scott and Verhoeven all locked in a tight battle for the minors with Gleeson narrowly holding the lead. Gleeson secured the win ahead of Scott, Verhoeven, McKenzie, Singleton, May, Hose, Amy Duynhoven and Peter Duynhoven.


The final night of racing saw McKenzie take a convincing win in the first heat of the night when he led home Verhoeven and Gleeson. While in the second heat it was May who claimed the win ahead of McKenzie and Woolstencroft.


With the final grid set with McKEnzie and May to start from the front row ahea of Verhoeven, Woolstencroft, Gleeson, Peter Duynhoven,. Singleton, Hose and David Duynhoven. Unfortunatly time constraints on the night saw the final unable to be ran.


The Super Rods next meeting will see them return to Heytesbury Stockfeed’s Simpson Speedway for the running of the 2019 Victorian Super Rod Title on Saturday 2nd of February, with a field of 18 cars nominated its sure to be a great night of racing.