Grant Stansfield Wins At Avalon

When the Super Rod’s took to Geelong’s Avalon Raceway on Good Friday to support night one of the annual Sprintcar trail it was Warrnambool’s Grant Stansfield who took the win ahead of Lancefield’s Shaun Walsh and Laang’s Troy Gleeson. Stansfield took over the driving duties of his father’s car to guide it to the top tier of the podium, less than a week before Stansfield had finished third at the Australian Formula 500 Title in Gunnedah, NSW.


In the first heat of the night it was Gleeson who took the win narrowly beating Corey Deglaitis who slammed into the wall as the pair crossed the finish line in the final lap with Stansfield home in third. Walsh took an all the ways win in heat two leading home Ewan McKenzie with Paul Verhoeven home in third.


Heat three saw Michael Coad with the win ahead of Allan Pitcher and McKenzie, heat three was not without incident when the car of Peter Bodger became untidy with Ric Swasbrick unable to avoid him with Bodger rolling his car and Swasbrick sustaining substantial front end damage.  The final heat of the night saw Stansfield lead all the way ahead of Walsh with Rob Richardson rounding out the top three.


The grid for the final saw Walsh and Stansfield making up the front row, they were followed by Coad, Gleeson, McKenzie, Pitcher, Verhoeven, Richardson, Deglaitis and Amy Duynhoven. Unable to start in the final were George Woolstencroft whose night was plagued with power steering gremlins and Bodger and Swasbrick who were unable to repair their damaged cars.


Walsh made the best of the starts with Stansfield, Gleeson, Coad and Pitcher in hot pursuit. In lap six Stansfield was able to manoeuvre his way into the lead with Walsh second. The battle for the minor positions proved entertaining as the cars of Gleeson, Pitcher, McKenzie and Coad all battling for third. Stansfield was able to establish a comfortable lead and took the checker ahead of Walsh, with Gleeson narrowly holding off a fast finishing Pitcher, they were followed by Coad, McKenzie, Deglaitis, Verhoeven, Richardson and Duynhoven.